123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789



You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

Old Blog

Update on Violence Against Women Act (VAWA)


From Pat Reuss of The National Organization for Women (NOW)

I put this together for the NOW folks and thought I'd share it with everyone else as well.  

House is introducing VAWA today with a closed press conf at 12:30 in press studio A.  It will be the duplicate of the Senate bill.  No Republicans have signed on as yet.  We should have a bill number by the end of the day or tomorrow.  Contacts are Conyers -  Jenny.Perrino@mail.house.gov and Moore Steffany.Stern@mail.house.gov
House Republican targets (some are pretty wild but worth a try) attached.  (Feel free to call any and all House R's who should be supporting VAWA and send your suggestions for additional targets.)

Senate bill will be introduced today or tomorrow.  Press event Weds at 2:30 in the Senate Dirksen Judiciary Committee room.  Everyone is welcome to fill the room and organizational representatives are invited to stand behind the speakers.  Contacts are Noah_Bookbinder@Judiciary-dem.senate.gov and Anya_McMurray@Judiciary-dem.senate.gov (temporarily working on vawa introduction while on maternity leave).  We'll know the bill number Weds afternoon, hopefully.

There will be anywhere from 1 to 4 Senate Republicans as original co sponsors.  Our job after the bill is introduced will be to get 60 sponsors asap.  list of Senate Dems/Inds at http://democrats.senate.gov/members and list of Senate R's who sponsored and voted for VAWA below.

Republican House Members who might support inclusive VAWA:

Alaska - Don Young
AZ - Paul Gosar
CA - Darrell Issa
CA - Duncan Hunter
CA - Jeff Denham
CA - Ken Calvert
CA - Kevin McCarthy
FL - Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
ID - Mike Simpson
Kathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA) 
MI - Dave Camp
Minn - John Kline 
NC - Patrick McHenry
NJ - Jon Runyon
NMex - Steve Pearce
NV - Joe Heck
NY - Chris Gibson
NY - Richard Hanna
NY - Tom Reed
OK - Tom Cole
OR - Greg Walden
PA - Michael Fitzpatrick
PA - Patrick Meehan
TX - Ted Poe
WA - Dave Reichert
WI - Sean Duffy

Republicans who voted for S. 1925, Crapo/Leahy (reelection status: class I = 2012, class II = 2014, class III = 2016)  * = 6 sponsors
Alexander, Lamar - (R - TN)                                    Class II
455 DIRKSEN, (202) 224-4944

*Ayotte, Kelly - (R - NH)                                           Class III
144 RUSSELL (202) 224-3324

Coats, Daniel - (R - IN)                                              Class III
493 RUSSELL (202) 224-5623

*Collins, Susan M. - (R - ME)                                    Class II
413 DIRKSEN (202) 224-2523

Corker, Bob - (R - TN)                                Class I
185 DIRKSEN SENATE (202) 224-3344

*Crapo, Mike - (R - ID)                                              Class III
239 DIRKSEN SENATE (202) 224-6142
*Kirk, Mark - (R - IL)                                 Class III
524 HART (202) 224-2854

*Heller, Dean - (R - NV)                                             Class I
361A RUSSELL (202) 224-6244

Hoeven, John - (R - ND)                                            Class III
120 RUSSELL (202) 224-2551

McCain, John - (R - AZ)                              Class III
241 RUSSELL (202) 224-2235

*Murkowski, Lisa - (R - AK)                      Class III
709 HART  (202) 224-6665 Web Form: www.murkowski.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=Contact

Portman, Rob - (R - OH)                            Class III
338 RUSSELL  (202) 224-3353

Vitter, David - (R - LA)                                    Class III
516 HART (202) 224-4623